My Journey Through the Spirit World by Ryuho Okawa

spiritworld

I enjoy reading about the spirituality of other people.  Not everyone follows the same path or believes the same things about life, the universe, and everything.  It’s the differences that make us unique.  I am always open to learning more about how others perceive the world around us, both the physical and metaphysical so when I was browsing on NetGalley for a book I would be interested in reading for a first review I was thrilled to browse my way to this book.

I was…less than enthused.  The writing feels rudimentary which I don’t expect from someone who has authored other books, especially books on this topic.  In some passages the voice comes across as very young, as if a school child has written it.

The subject matter feels repetitive.  The same concepts are explained over and over with different examples or with slight variations.  Yet the structure of the spirit world is complex and complicated (and not helped out by the lackluster writing.)  It would seem that the way Hell works (it’s a dimension inside other dimensions with other levels) or Heaven for that matter are floors within larger constructs.

The basic tenets of the work (that we should strive to love and be happy) fit with most of our traditions; where the book really lost me was that Love and Truth are synonyms in the spirit world.  I could buy that buildings and objects have mirrors in the other realm (are you kidding? One of my ideas of Heaven is a giant library!)  I can get with the concept that people who murder and wreak havoc on Earth continue to do so in the afterlife until they come to realize the wrongness of what they’re doing.  I’ve read enough other works to understand the concept of astral projection (though visiting Cloudland in my sleep was a bit far-fetched for me.)  I read the section on how love and truth become linked and then I read it again.  While I actually can agree with most, if not all, of the underlying concepts the author is trying to convey the notion of love and Truth being somehow the same were never fully explained enough for me to get where the author was trying to get me.

Between the poorly constructed language and the iffy examples of how the spirit world functions I couldn’t bring myself to continue reading this book.  I started reading the second chapter (about half way through the book) and couldn’t bring myself to keep going.  Definitely do not recommend.

Leave a comment